All is Lost. A good movie is found

‘I’m sorry. I know that means little at this point, but I am. I tried. I think you would all agree that I tried. To be true, to be strong, to be kind, to love, to be right. But I wasn’t’ – almost the only words in one of the most quiet, calm and touching movies I have seen, ‘All is Lost’. We know nothing more about the character besides these several words and for 2 hours we observe the unknown man fighting for his life, alone, face to face with the moody sea.

Sea fascinates me. I love smelling its salty scent in the air, watching its waves, hearing them beating against the shore. As a child I used to swim further away from the crowded beach just to feel its peacefulness and to have a moment alone with its endless blue. And I was always impressed by the life hidden in its depth. Sea scares me. For many years I have a repeating dream about a tenth wave that comes unexpectedly and destroys everything on its way. I run as fast as possible and climb the highest buildings trying to escape…

…All is lost. The film is as silent as the calm sea and as gripping, powerful and rigorous as the storm in the ocean. And although it can be criticized for the lack of accuracy, it’s still great. It was not thought as a documentary about sailors in the high seas and its primary goal was not to show all the details correctly. It tells a story about a person left on his own without any help and almost no hope. Nothing more is important. And it’s amazing how one actor keeps the attention of the audience for so long without saying a word or doing something special. He just lives the role as naturally as he can without adding needless emotions or pathetic monologues. This simplicity makes the film so emotional and moving, leaving space for audience’s interpretations, thoughts and feelings. I came out of the cinema in a melancholic mood, buried into the memories of the past. What will you feel?

One thought on “All is Lost. A good movie is found

Leave a Reply

